English Golf Courses

Entries now open for 2017 Lagonda Trophy

Entries are now open for one of the country’s most prestigious amateur golf tournaments - the Lagonda Trophy.

Taking place at Gog Magog Golf Club in Cambridge from May 17-18, this year’s tournament will be the 43rd in the illustrious history of the Lagonda Trophy, which counts some of golf’s most famous names amongst its list of past champions.

Lee Westwood claimed the trophy in 1992, a year before he made the switch to the professional ranks. Luke Donald did likewise in 1997. More recently, 2016 Ryder Cup star Andy Sullivan got his hands on the title in 2010, whilst Kenny Ferrie and Oliver Fisher - both of whom have gone on to enjoy success on the European Tour - have also had their names engraved on the trophy. Last year’s championship was won by rising star Harry Ellis of Meon Valley, pictured above.

Founded by Clive Smith, and taking its name from the vintage car brand for which he has a huge passion, the Lagonda Trophy was first contested at Camberley Heath in 1975. It stayed there until 1989 and moved to Gog Magog in 1990.

Entry forms for this year’s championship be downloaded from the Gog Magog website, www.gogmagog.co.uk, or from www.englandgolf.org.

In Other News...

WATCH THE LATEST VIDEO: Titleist TS Metalwoods review

Subscribe to UK Club Golfer Newsletter

* indicates required
UK Club Golfer
Subscribe to UK Club Golfer Latest News Email - Click Here to Register

Read the latest issue of UK Club Golfer online

UK Club Golfer

Copyright © 2003 - 2017 PSP Media Group Ltd Registered Office: PSP House, 50 High Craighall Road Glasgow G4 9UD Registered in Scotland No. 158316 Tel: 0141 353 2222 Fax: 0141 332 3839 Email: sales@psp.uk.net Calls may be monitored or recorded for training purposes