English Golf Courses

English players picked for St Andrews Trophy squad

Eleven players named in Great Britain & Ireland’s 21-man squad for Swedish match-up

Eleven English players have been included in the 21-man Great Britain & Ireland squad for the St Andrews Trophy match with Europe in Sweden later this year.

US Amateur champion Matthew Fitzpatrick headlines a strong squad which will form the basis of the nine-man that will be chosen in mid-August to try to reclaim the trophy from their Continental opponents at Barsebäck Golf and Country Club from August 29-30.

Fitzpatrick is joined in the squad by reigning European Amateur champion Ashley Chesters and Greg Eason, currently No.3 on the amateur rankings.

US-based Sam Horsfield has also been included in the squad, as have South African Amateur champion Paul Howard, Wellingborough golfer Ryan Evans, Nick Marsh of Huddersfield, and Royal North Devon 21-year-old Jimmy

Ben Taylor, Jordan Smith, and Tomasz Anderson round out the English contingent.

Scotland has contributed five players to the squad - Grant Forrest, Ewan Scott, James Ross, Bradley Neil, and Jack McDonald - whilst Walker Cup star Rhys Pugh is the sole Welshman.

Flying the flag for Ireland, meanwhile, are Jack Hume, Gary Hurley, Gavin Moynihan, and Dermot McElroy.

Nigel Edwards will captain the team for the third time and is optimistic that the players he ultimately ends up selecting will stand a good chance of reclaiming the trophy after the Continent of Europe’s narrow 12½-11½ win at Portmarnock in 2012.

“We have announced a strong squad for this year’s match,” said Edwards, a playing member of the victorious St Andrews Trophy teams in 2002, 2004 and 2006.

“The final selection of the team for the St Andrews Trophy match will be dependent on performances and, therefore, players who are not named in this squad have every chance of playing their way on to the team.  I am confident that the team we select will mount a real challenge for the trophy in Sweden.”

The biennial St Andrews Trophy will be played alongside the annual boys’ match, the Jacques Leglise Trophy, at Barsebäck.

The St Andrews Trophy has been played since 1956. Great Britain & Ireland have won on 24 occasions and the Continent of Europe has won five times, including the 2010 and 2012 matches.

In Other News...

WATCH THE LATEST VIDEO: Titleist TS Metalwoods review

Subscribe to UK Club Golfer Newsletter

* indicates required
UK Club Golfer
Subscribe to UK Club Golfer Latest News Email - Click Here to Register

Read the latest issue of UK Club Golfer online

UK Club Golfer

Copyright © 2003 - 2017 PSP Media Group Ltd Registered Office: PSP House, 50 High Craighall Road Glasgow G4 9UD Registered in Scotland No. 158316 Tel: 0141 353 2222 Fax: 0141 332 3839 Email: sales@psp.uk.net Calls may be monitored or recorded for training purposes